RSS

Koine Greek 101!

22 Oct
I am in the slow process of learning Koine Greek, which is the type of Greek used to write the LXX and New Testament. Since I don't actually blog that much, I though I would just “take notes” as it were on what I've learned in Greek during the week.
 
So this post will be the first in a series of Koine Greek grammar/vocabulary/other cool stuff.
 
I mainly learned Koine Greek by reading Mark first in English and then in its Wescott-Hort Greek. I also use Wiktionary quite a bit and also the Perseus website. The first thing I had to learn was the Greek alphabet, and how to pronounce the words:
 
Αα – Aa (alpha)
Σσ/ς – Ss (Sigma)
Δδ – Dd (Delta)
Φφ – Ff (Phi)
Γγ – Gg (Gamma)
Ηη – “Eeta” (Eta)
Ξξ – Xx (Xi)
Κκ – Kk (Kappa)
Λλ – Ll (Lamda)
Ζζ – Zz (Zeta)
Χχ – “Ch” (Chi)
Ψψ – “Ps” (Psi)
Ωω – Oo (omega “big o”)
Ββ – Bb (Beta)
Νν – Nn (Nu)
Μμ – Mm (Mu)
Εε – Ee (epsilon)
Ρρ – Rr (Rho)
Ττ – Tt (Tau)
Υυ – Uu/Yy (Upsilon)
Θθ – “Th” (Theta)
Ιι – Ii (Iota)
Oo – Oo (Omicron “small o”)
Ππ – Pp (Pi)
 
Sigma is the only Greek letter (that I know of so far) that has a “final” form. As in, if Sigma appears at the end of a word, then it has to take that final form, like in the name Ιησους. There are two Sigmas here, one after Eta, and another after Upsilon. Greek also has a couple of letters that are only represented in English dipthongs. That is, two letters put together to make one sound. These are Theta, Chi, and Psi. Theta represents the “th” sound in English. Chi doesn't really have an English referent, but would something like “H-Ch”, kind of like making an “h” sound before saying “christ”. But saying it as a “k” sound is also acceptable. Psi is a letter that also doesn't have a natural English representation, but we say it naturally when we say the word “epsilon”. So even though we say the Greek word psyche (ψυχη) like “sai-kee” it would actually be pronounced “puh-sai-kee”.
 
After learning a bit about letters, I learned a bit about grammar. There are five cases that nouns come in:
 
1. Nominative
2. Accusative
3. Genitive
4. Dative
5. Vocative
 
An easy way to remember what role these cases have, here's a sentence that I got from a message board: “Hey Vocative, the nominee said he saw the accused with the general's date”
 
The Nominative is the person doing the action. The accused is the one who the action is being done to. Genitive denotes possession, and dative is who/what is being possessed or to who/what something is given. Vocative is just saying the thing out loud as a form of address.
 
Let me try to render that sentence (minus the vocative) in Greek: “Πετρος εβλεπει Παυλον και Ιακωβου Χριστω”. Being transliterated, this would be “Petros eblepei Paulon kai Iakwbou Christw”. I use “w” here to represent Omega (long “o”), like in the name “Joe”. Translated, this would be “Peter saw Paul with Jacob's Christ”.
 
I think this is all I'm going to write about what I've learned about Greek so far. As an ending for these posts in the future, I'm going to write about what cool new word I learned over the week (like Sesame Street! lol)
 
Today's word is: Βαλλω.
 
Ballw means “to throw”. This is the word used when the Pharisee accuse Jesus of using demons to “drive out” (εκ-βαλλει – literally “out-throw”) demons. This word is also etymologically related to the word Diablos. Diablos is derived from the Greek word Διαβολος which is Greek for “accuser” or “slanderer”. It came from δια-βαλλω: throw across. Think of it as “hurling insults across a room” like a tactless prosecutor does at a trial.
 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 22, 2010 in greek

 

One response to “Koine Greek 101!

  1. Kraxpelax

    October 23, 2010 at 3:25 am

    The Moon
    shines
    on a cat

    Meow

    As a native Swede, I am particularly proud of my love poetry suite Sonnets for Katie.

    My Poems

    My wallpaper art Babes!

    Sexuality introduces Death to Being; and indeed Life simultaneously. This is the profound Myth of the Eden. The work of the Serpent. Bringing us out of “blessed” Standstill. So, in contrast to the mindless pietism of vulgar Christianity, my personal “Christo-Satanism” should be given serious thought by the Enlightened Few, the Pneumatics, the 1% Outlaws. The Light Bringer must be rehabilitated, beacause if not, the All of it simply doesn't make sense: true Catholicism is necessarily Meta Catholicism.

    My philosophy

    Arthur Rimbaud, Max Jacob, Saint-John Perse, René Char, Henri Michaux, Roger Kowalski, Peter Ingestad

    LE FRUIT DU CIEL

    Un orage nocturne illmuna maintenant l'Amazonie, franchis les Andes, envoya des jeux de cartes gigantesques et frappantes en bas à la Pampa –

    Puis: petit déjeuner à melon; café fumant!

    À la bague du cigare tu lis, étonné: GÉOGRAPHIE.

    My prosepoetry in French:

    Poétudes

    Et je traduise la poésie française en suédois:

    Ordgaller

    Schwarzes Birne!
    Aufforderung zur Erotik.

    My poetry in German:

    Fremde Gedichte

    Casualidad sopla la sangre
    de alguno señor desconocido
    durante los pocos restantes
    momentos del resplandor de faroles

    que se vislumbran tras el follaje
    flameando de las obsesiónes
    igual efimero como gotas
    del cinzano de la soledad –

    En aquel tiempo me levanta
    dentro uno incidente avejentado
    que en seguida palidece
    al camouflaje de abstraccion;

    chica, nadie conoce que tus grisos
    ojos significan aún; con todo
    el sueño que hube evacuado
    tu escudriñas nuevamente.

    Mi poesía aproximadamente española

    And: reciprocity: for mutual benefit, you will do me a favor promoting your own blog on mine!

    The best way to do it is lining up as a Follower, since then your icon will advertise you indefinitely, and I will follow you in return. Let's forge a mighty alliance of synergy and common interest.

    Yours,

    – Peter Ingestad, Sweden

     
 
NeuroLogica Blog

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

Slate Star Codex

NꙮW WITH MꙮRE MULTIꙮCULAR ꙮ

Κέλσος

Matthew Ferguson Blogs

The Wandering Scientist

Just another WordPress.com site

NT Blog

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

Euangelion Kata Markon

A blog dedicated to the academic study of the "Gospel According to Mark"

PsyPost

Behavior, cognition and society

PsyBlog

Understand your mind with the science of psychology -

Vridar

Musings on biblical studies, politics, religion, ethics, human nature, tidbits from science

Maximum Entropy

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

atheist, polyamorous skeptics

Criticism is not uncivil

Say..

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

Research Digest

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

Disrupting Dinner Parties

Feminism is for everyone!

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

The New Oxonian

Religion and Culture for the Intellectually Impatient

The Musings of Thomas Verenna

A Biblioblog about imitation, the Biblical Narratives, and the figure of Jesus

