RSS

Because I Want To!

04 Nov
This is a pretty good deconstruction of the “personal relationship” meme that most Christians have. This was posted by someone at FRDB:

So my best friend is Catholic and his wife is very in to her Catholicism too. She also happens to be a Yoga teacher and likes to talk about a lot of new age woo woo.

One dinner we got in to a conversation about Catholicism and I asked her why she believes what she believes? She said there was all kinds of evidence. The bibles, personal experience/personal relationship, all the millions of others that believe it.

I shot holes in her “reasoning” and we continued until she asked if I even believed JC was a real person. When I said “not really” she looked like I shot her.

I asked her if she thought she’d be Catholic if her parents hadn’t been. She didn’t know. I asked her if she thought she would be if she was born in Afghanistan. She didn’t know, but didn’t think so. I asked her if she was a Hindu whether she’d find the same “evidence” for Catholicism all that persuasive. She wasn’t sure.

I asked her if she really had a personal relationship with JC where she spoke with and got replies from him. She said she believed she did. I asked her to close her eyes and imagine Brad Pitt telling her that apples taste good (then imagining him taking a bite of it). She did and laughed. I told her that she now had an equally personal relationship with Brad Pitt. She started crying and said “I believe it because I LIKE IT AND I HAVE TO BELIEVE IT BECAUSE I WANT TO!!! OKAY? I JUST WANT TO” to which I quietly looked around the Boston Pizza we were in and whispered with a smirk “okay…that’s okay”.

That’s the best answer I’ve heard yet. “BECAUSE I WANT TO”

 
Comments Off on Because I Want To!

Posted by on November 4, 2009 in personal relationship

 

Comments are closed.

 
NeuroLogica Blog

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

Slate Star Codex

SSC DISCORD SERVER AT https://discordapp.com/invite/gpaTCxh ; SCHELLING POINT FOR DISCUSSION IS WED 10 PM EST

Κέλσος

Matthew Ferguson Blogs

The Wandering Scientist

Just another WordPress.com site

NT Blog

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

Euangelion Kata Markon

A blog dedicated to the academic study of the "Gospel According to Mark"

PsyPost

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

PsyBlog

Understand your mind with the science of psychology -

Vridar

Musings on biblical studies, politics, religion, ethics, human nature, tidbits from science

Maximum Entropy

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

atheist, polyamorous skeptics

Criticism is not uncivil

Say..

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

Research Digest

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

Disrupting Dinner Parties

Feminism is for everyone!

My ὑπομνήματα about religion

The New Oxonian

Religion and Culture for the Intellectually Impatient

The Musings of Thomas Verenna

A Biblioblog about imitation, the Biblical Narratives, and the figure of Jesus

